Ceremony set for Monday, Aug. 29, 3 - 4 p.m., HSC Okey Patteson Auditorium

The recipients of the 2016 Dean’s Excellence Awards have been announced. School of Medicine Executive Dean Clay Marsh will present awards Monday, August 29 from 3 p.m. to 4 p.m. in Okey Patteson Auditorium. A reception with light refreshments will follow in the Pylons Lobby. All faculty, staff and students are invited to attend and join in honoring our colleagues and co-workers.

Full list of recipients:

Dean’s Award 2016

Administrator of the Year – Rhonda Blizzard–Robinette

Professional Staff of the Year – Valerie Moore

Professional Staff of the Year – Winabeth Smith

Support Staff of the Year – Penny Humberson

Support Staff of the Year – Rosanna Clise


Dean’s Excellence Award 2016

Educational Innovation – Dawn Hunter, Ph.D.

Clinical Service – Robert A Gustafson, M.D., F.A.C.S.

Clinical Service – Kevin Tveter, M.D.

Research – Ming Pei, M.D., Ph.D.

Community Service – WVU Telestroke Team

Matt Smith, M.D.; Muhammad Alvi, M.D.; John Brick, M.D.; Aaron Seldon, M.S.N, R.N., M.B.A.; Leslie Harclerode

Service to the School – David Wilks, M.D.


Charleston Campus Dean’s Excellence Award 2016

Teaching – Hani Nazha, M.D.

Service – WVU Charleston Student Services

    Rachael Trout, Ed.D.; Charissa Davis; Laura Florence; Patricia Petry

Educational Innovation – Kathleen Bors, M.D.


Eastern Campus Dean’s Excellence Award 2016

Clinical Service – Pete Yossuck, M.D.

Education Innovation – David Baltierra, M.D.

Professional Staff of the Year – Gina Parker, M.S.N.


Distinguished Teacher Award

Lori A. Sherlock, Ed.D. – 2016

Randy W. Bryner, Ed.D. – 2015

Arif R. Sarwari, M.D., M.Sc., M.B.A. – 2015