MORGANTOWN, W.Va. — Mary K. Stamatakis, Pharm.D., associate dean for academic affairs and educational innovation and associate professor of clinical pharmacy in the West Virginia University School of Pharmacy, was the recipient of the 2012 Jerry Siegel Clinical Achievement Award.Mary K. Stamatakis, Pharm.D.

Dr. Stamatakis, a native of Canton, Ohio, received the award at the 2012 American Society of Health-System Pharmacists Midyear Clinical Meeting in December. The award recognizes an alumnus of The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center Pharmacy Residency Program.

“I am honored to have been selected for this award,” Stamatakis said. “Residency programs really help prepare pharmacists to be able to provide superior patient care in clinical practice. My residency program gave me a great foundation in patient care and teaching. I hope to pass along the valuable knowledge and experience I gained to student pharmacists and residents at the WVU School of Pharmacy and WVU Hospitals to help them in their chosen career paths as either teachers or practicing clinical pharmacists.”

Stamatakis’ teaching and research interests include nephrology pharmacotherapy and mentorship of students and residents for careers in teaching and administration.

For more information: Amy Newton, School of Pharmacy, 304-293-7192